Funny Stuff We Found at Walgreens

You’ve heard of The People of Walmart? My 14-yr-old darling daughter (“DD”) and I are The People of Walgreens. We love Walgreens. Not only does it meet our snacking and prescription needs, it has lots of stuff that is either unique or so hidden in bigger stores that we would never find it. And it’s not just stuff. It’s funny stuff.

The other day, DD and I were picking up some lemonade when she noticed this fun product for mature folks. . . . The Snuggie taken one step too far. . . . Oh, wait. The Snuggie was already a step too far.

Really? Is this actually a life goal?

At this point, I bribed talked DD into playing Vanna White for a while as we trolled the aisles for other products that gave us a laugh.

It didn’t take us long to find the Cozy Spot, a “Unique Personal Warmer.” . . . Nope. Not going to go there, but look closely at the picture. I’ll leave you to make of that what you will.

Next was the “Appetite Control Spray” with the belly dancer on the box. I assure you, I never knew a belly dancer who used this product, or at least who admitted to it. They get points for inoffensive use of a belly dancer, though.

There aren’t just products for humans that gave us a laugh. Check out the Kiss Me Toy for your pooch. In case you can’t tell from the profile view, DD is holding a stuffed cow head with massive lips.

And lest you think pets are favored over tween girls, check out this Justin Bieber singing toothbrush. Really.

It’s not just the products that amuse us, it’s sometimes their placement. Not sure why this little fella was hiding on a top shelf away from its friends between the Coppertone sunscreen and the bar soap.

Walgreens doesn’t just have funny stuff for the old folks, the pets, and the tweens, it has funny stuff for the tykes, too. Doesn’t every small child need a plush Minnie Mouse Easter basket that’s big enough to hide Jimmy Hoffa?

As long as I don’t contemplate the tribute to egregious consumerism that these stores represent, I always get a laugh out of them.

So I’m curious. Do you have any stores in your area where you find funky stuff? What sort of stuff do you find?

All the best to all of you for not being Forever Lazy.

Piper Bayard

89 comments on “Funny Stuff We Found at Walgreens

  1. susielindau says:

    Your daughter DD is so beautiful! Watch out Vanna….
    Those products are ridiculous. lol!

  2. EllieAnn says:

    haha! So funny!
    I imagine “appetite control spray” makes everything smell like old eggs or armpits.

  3. Laird Sapir says:

    I love Walgreens. They have seriously random stuff, and I can spend hours wandering… I will steer clear of the “forever lazy”, though – maybe. Think there’s a lux version out there somewhere (because I might be talked into a version that was not made from polyester).

    I also have a deep and abiding fondness for the store “Tuesday Morning” – talk about a treasure trove!

    Your daughter made an excellent Vanna – thanks for the laugh, Piper!

  4. I echo the compliments of your daughter. She is a beauty, and–evidently–accustomed to your random acts of snark.

    KUDOS on an entertaining post, and can I steal the idea? No? Drat!

    I plan to use my lunchtime to find an unusual stuffed animal for my virtual walk to Toronto via Treadmill and outside-the-house pedometer. (Walking to and from the loo, the couch, the bed, the fridge? Nope.That would be SO cheating).

    If I pass near fellow blogger’s homes en route, I’ll arrange to have them meet my virtual walking buddy at their local Starbucks for pics. Off to find a redunkulous mascot and a pedometer! A kissing cow? YES!

    • Piper Bayard says:

      Lol. Steal away. Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

      As for my daughter, I think she loves my random acts of carpe diem while simultaneously being mortified, but rumor has it she is a lot like me when I’m not looking. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Gloria.

  5. The oddest things I have found in our Walgreen’s (s) are shirts and hats that say “Bristol,PA” – – who the hell would want that? Sure, Bristol is historical.. but no one really comes to PA to drive to Fairless Hills, PA to but a shirt that says “Bristol, PA” on it.

    Great post, Piper.

  6. RIOT!!!! Love it and your daughter is gorgeous…you two look like you guys have so much fun.
    Hubby and I get a real kick out of product placement and the stuff we can find at Canadian Tire is hilarious! Gotta love shopping fun. LOL!

  7. Sherry Isaac says:

    Cool stores with cool stuff. All I can think of, while stranded waiting at the Mini dealer 100 kms from home, is the cool antique cabinet I bought before my long road trip home. Said road trip ended up in breakdown on the last stretch, on a Sunday, no less. Tow truck dumped off my car at the closed dealer, I had to go to a hotel, but no way was I leaving my recent acquisition for would be thieves lest my car get broken into before the dealership opened this morning.
    So, call cab, load cabinet. Get to hotel, lug cabinet to my room. Check out of hotel, lug cabinet back to lobby. Climb aboard courtesy shuttle, cabinet takes up the back seat so no other passengers can come with. Arrive at dealership, lug cabinet to service counter with me.
    Cabinet is bound to look great when I finally get it home, because it looks good everywhere else!

    • Piper Bayard says:

      Oh, how funny, Sherry. How special that cabinet will be for your and your family. As a recovering attorney, I can tell you that cabinet will be what your great-grandchildren fight over some day. Thanks for stopping by. Please give me an update on how it looks in your house. 🙂

  8. gojulesgo says:

    Hilarious – and your daughter is beautiful!!

    I think the crap, I mean, fine goods near the registers at Bed, Bath & Beyond are often amazing. Last time there was a talking mustache keychain; you hold it up to your face, press the button, and it says, “Well hello there.”

  9. Melissa says:

    1. Your daughter is beautiful.
    2. CVS pharmacy is like Walgreens. Also, they have regional items. The one in our town has stuff with our local high school’s logo. We stayed once in Ardsley, NY, and the CVS had Ardsley tee shirts. Also, the weird stuff.

    • Piper Bayard says:

      1. Thank you. I’ll pass that on.
      2. Great point about CVS. I remember one in Chicago I was at during the last election season. They were selling chia Obama heads.

      Thanks for stopping by, Melissa. 🙂

  10. Oh my gosh your daughter is gorgeous! Those products are hilarious, I mean, really? Forever Lazy? Is that what we want to promote? I guess they won’t need the Ecstasy condoms if they are forever lazy, but wait… if they don’t get the condoms they might reproduce. Yikes.

    • Piper Bayard says:

      Seriously. If anyone really wants to be Forever Lazy, they need the whole body suit made by Trojan just to protect the rest of us from their spawn. Thanks for the compliment, and thanks for stopping by. Good to see you, Tameri.

  11. Catherine Johnson says:

    I can’t help but repeat everyone, your daughter is beautiful. And this post is hilarious as usual 🙂

  12. tomwisk says:

    Fun post. We’ve got Ocean State Job Lots. They’re a wonderful place to pick up those items that ‘normal’ stores wouldn’t carry. I always take a detour through the “As seen on TV” aisle in the local pharmacy. My self-control is severely tested. One other source of really neat stuff is the Harriet Carter catalogue. I gotta get a cell phone so I could post nifty pix.

    • Piper Bayard says:

      Any store with an “As seen on TV” aisle has got to be paydirt for finding funky stuff. And I’m glad you mentioned the Harriet Carter catalogue. You’re right. They have some unique items, too. Thanks for stopping by, Tom. Good to see you. 🙂

  13. A store that constantly amazes me is Dollar General. It’s maybe one tenth the size of Wal-Mart – or less – but I almost never fail to find whatever off the wall item I’m looking for. And their prices are frequently lower than Wal-Mart’s.

  14. brennagrimes says:

    The hubby & I always seem to get sucked into TJMaxx or World Market. We especially love the food section of both these stores, always leaving with something we’ve never heard of & totally interesting. Just last week, we found cookies made of waffle cones with vanilla icing as the filling at World Market. Um, yum? Why didn’t we Americans think of that (or at least if we have, I’ve never seen them)?

  15. BWAHAHA. Man I wish we had Walgreens up here in Canada. some of those products…”Make any spot your cozy spot” *howls with laughter again*

    You’re daughter is awesome–talk abotu a fun mother daughter shopping trip. 🙂

  16. My other half finds the weird stuff more often than I do. But here are some of our gems:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bladesjester/6087867014/in/photostream from one of the local Goodwill stores.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bladesjester/5819225379/in/photostream complete with slogan provided by the other half. 😉

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bladesjester/5768944357/in/photostream We are still not quite sure what chewy is shaped like, as the bears certainly did not look like a wookiee.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bladesjester/5726953258/in/set-72157625123800180 Not a product, but from a store nonetheless.

    Next one’s a twofer: http://www.flickr.com/photos/bladesjester/5639936090/in/set-72157625123800180 http://www.flickr.com/photos/bladesjester/5639936004/in/set-72157625123800180 All the fun of horrible, painful death and destruction in your very own home!

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bladesjester/5256853906/in/set-72157625123800180 We were a little leery of checking out the “new age beverage”.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bladesjester/5204609076/in/set-72157625123800180 If you hear it, prepare for chocolate rain.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bladesjester/5192711316/in/set-72157625123800180 Dude, this ice cream is like, totally awesome, dude. Aw dude, y’know what would make it better? Lets crunch up some Doritos in it, man!

    • J Holmes says:

      Wow Karyl. Thanks for the links to the hilarious products.

    • Piper Bayard says:

      LMAO! What a hoot, Karyl. Thank you so much for these links. I’m hard pressed to say which is my favorite, but the Passover Bag of Plagues is right up there. Thank you for the laugh. 🙂

      • Yeah the bag of plagues was the big one for me. I believe that one was from either Kroger or Meijer on one of the clearance shelves. Either way, it’s thanks to things like that he never leaves his camera at home anymore.

  17. Jess Witkins says:

    We live a block away from Walgreens and love going there too. I’ll have to pay more attention when I shop cause I have CLEARLY missed out on the singing toothbrush. I saw it and was like “Baby, baby, baby OOOOOOOH” 😀

  18. lryanis says:

    Justin Bieber singing toothbrush was a huge hit at our white elephant gift exchange for work. Will make sure to visit Walgreen’s when selecting next year’s gifts. Hilarious. Looks like you and DD had some good laughs together as well. Quality family time in the aisles of Walgreens. Love it.

  19. J Holmes says:

    I don’t get why they would expect to lower my appetite with a belly dancer. Oh wait never mind. They were talking about food. …Uhm it still doesn’t quite make sense unless the spray container contains a belly dancer to distract me away from the food.

    Piper’s daughter is the sweetest child. Can you believe Piper actually yells at her now and then? It’s sad but true. DD and I are keeping a log of these events. So far it was always Piper’s fault. A girl that sweet should not be yelled at. If it were anyone but Piper I would make them sorry for yelling at my niece.

  20. Hilarious…and I love the photos! 😀 I, too, am a Walgreens gal. I’m a sucker for their cute fridge magnets (which are always inexplicably by the cold drinks case) and the weird stuff at the checkout, like the heart-shaped bamboo plant I bought on clearance after Valentine’s Day.

    • Piper Bayard says:

      Yes! Those magnets and that stuff by the register keeps me so entertained that I don’t even notice if there’s a line. I have no idea what I would do with a flashlight cow keychain, but I like playing with it by the register. Good to see you, Heather. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  21. Marianne says:

    I bet they place Trojans between soap and suntan lotion at all the Walgreens on the Jersey Shore.

  22. Loved this light hearted post, so funny, made me giggle….I love Walgreens too, they have interesting merchandise….wow, your daughter is beautiful, just like her mom!
    Thanks for sharing
    Celeste

  23. For real. Today I am getting a pedicure next door to a Walgreens. I’ve never gone inside. Well once, but that was a Tampax emergency. I wasn’t trolling for goodies. Love the Bieber singing toothbrush. So awful.

    Maybe I’ll go inside today.

    At least I know where to find the Trojans. 😉

    • Piper Bayard says:

      A pedicure and a funny stuff scavenging at Walgreens sounds like a very pleasant day. Especially if you have a need for the Trojans later. Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Renee. Good to see you. Enjoy your pedicure. 🙂

  24. […] A quest began yesterday with Piper Bayard’s snort-worthy blog on Funny Stuff We Found at Walgreens. […]

  25. Does anyone else think the placement of products is getting a bid absurd? (a la Trojan box next to sunscreen). It’s like the stores are organizing everything so blatantly around impulse buying that you can’t even find what you’re looking for anymore.

    • Piper Bayard says:

      Pretty much. They don’t care if we find what we’re looking for as long as we buy more. Thanks for stopping by, Lance. Good to see you. 🙂

      • Truth. Unfortunately, I’m starting to go back to the small town drugstores because crap is easier to find and worth the extra $0.25 if I save an hour, haha.

        For sure. Much love.

      • Having known some people who worked at various big box retailers and the like, that’s EXACTLY why they do it – and why they always remodel right about the time you finally figured out where stuff is again after their LAST remodel. The idea is that if you wander in the store for longer, you’re more likely to buy things you don’t need/didn’t come in for. Also why they play the slow music. But that whole arranging things so you can’t find it mess backfires when it comes to people like me. My attention span only goes so far. If I can’t find what I’m looking for, and can’t find someone who can TELL me where to find what I’m looking for (and I don’t mean the clueless ones who say “I dunno, let’s look for it” like you haven’t already tried that – I mean someone who ACTUALLY knows where stuff is), I just say stuff it and leave. I don’t have much free time these days, I do NOT want to spent it in a grocery store playing “where did they hide the toilet paper?”

  26. mairedubhtx says:

    Walgreens and CVS are two of my favorite stores (Walgreens is the best) for finding the most amazing products that you would never find anywhere else. Especially for holidays, you can find the best decorations. My daughter will ask ask me where I found something and inevitably I will say “Walgreens” (or “CVS”).

    • Piper Bayard says:

      I have the same experience. We have a Christmas party almost every year, and I always got there for the goodies Santa brings to the kids. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your experience, Maire. 🙂

  27. Stacy Green says:

    Your daughter is beautiful:) And LOL at the products, especially the Bieber toothbrush. My six-year-old would be all over that!

    • Piper Bayard says:

      Isn’t that a hoot? Actually, I have a friend whose daughter is a Belieber. She’ll be getting that for her birthday. Good to see you, Stacy. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  28. Leanne Shirtliffe says:

    I love found humour, and it’s quickly becoming a hobby of mine. (Can finding humour be a hobby?)

    I however only have searched on signs and in book stores. I’ll clearly have to expand and look for the appetite-control-sprays of Canada.

  29. Carol Rives says:

    Well now, don’t you just come across all the “great” finds!!!! Seriously, between this post and your post on Valentine’s Day, it looks as though humor is directly in your path!!!

    A new Walgreen’s is being built here in town; can’t wait to go strolling through when I need a giggle or two!

  30. Julie says:

    It’s a good thing you took pictures or I wouldn’t have believed those things existed – especially the appetizer suppressant spray. WTF???

  31. Jeff says:

    I’m going to be looking a lot more closely next time I go to Walgreen’s, I’ll tell you that! Great post, and props to your daughter for helping you out! I wonder if CVS has the same stuff…

  32. Susan Spann says:

    Hilarious, Piper.

    I think the best thing I ever found in a drugstore (do we still call them that??) was a black Snuggie marked with…skulls and crossbones.

    My son’s comment: “Because nothing says ‘Dangerous AND confused’ like a Pirate snuggie.”

    • Aww, don’t knock the pirate snuggie! I actually kinda want one.

      But then, I also have what I refer to as my “girly pirate collection” – various items involving skull and crossbones with something pink. LOL

    • Piper Bayard says:

      Lol. Love Tesla’s comment. I hope he can meet my son some day. I’ll bet they would have a great time building explosives or playing Call of Duty. And I have to confess that I would be tempted by a Pirate Snuggie. Arrr! Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Susan. 🙂

  33. Catie Rhodes says:

    Coming in late. Sometimes I *need* a few internet free days. Your daughter is so pretty. She could be a model. I am (guiltily) looking online to see what some of this stuff is. Our Walgreens has an “as seen on TV” section, which I always check out.

    • Piper Bayard says:

      Ironically enough, at 5’10” and a size 8, she is exactly the wrong size to be a model. Not willowy enough for high fashion, and not full figure enough for full figure models. Crazy, isn’t it? But that’s ok. She’s content to be herself, and that’s really the most beautiful feature a girl can have, I think.

      Thanks for stopping by, Catie. Let me know what you find at your Walgreens. 🙂

  34. You’ve just confirmed it for me, Piper. I’ve thought it for a while, but now I know – you are such a FUN person & mom. And before I forget, your daughter is gorgeous and obviously has an adorable attitude!

    I like to walk through Dollar Tree from time to time…just to see what they have. I enjoy it so much, that I purchased multiple products from the store for my last White Elephant party. LOL

    • Piper Bayard says:

      Dollar Tree is a good one, too, for sure. I may take DD there in a couple of months and do another of these posts. Thanks for the compliment, Tiffany, and thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  35. Donna Newton says:

    Hilarious. You have a beautiful daughter. I’m off to Tesco’s now to see what idiot things I can buy…er, I mean find. 🙂

  36. Clay says:

    Great stuff Piper! Nothing like bonding over a fun day of ridiculing American consumerism. I have a Walgreens right down the road, but I have almost everything right down the road. There’s also a fake grocery story called Valu something, but I haven’t been brave enough to go in there.

  37. […] same effect for me that it did for Ms. Hagerty. Since my darling daughter, DD, and I had such fun finding things at Walgreens, I once more recruited her away from her books and her engineering interests to be my model. . . […]

Talk to us. We talk back.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.