Beauty Carved In Flesh and Blood

Piper Bayard

Each year, the beautiful August McLaughlin orchestrates a celebration of women and beauty. Drop by her site this week at the Beauty of a Woman Blogfest V for prizes and tributes to the Beauty of a Woman.

 

Waterolor beautiful girl. Vector illustration of woman beauty salon

Waterolor beautiful girl. Vector illustration of woman beauty salon

 

Beauty Carved In Flesh and Blood

I am the body that learned to walk, that ran in the sunshine and kicked off shoes to dance in the rain – the body that thirsted for life.

I am the body that was “too tall,” “too fat,” “too feminine” for boys to let join in their games – the body so embarrassed that it had to hide.

I am the body the men whistled at, honked at, and devoured with their eyes – the body that strutted with sexual pride.

I am the body that was violated, shamed, and silenced – the body that wanted to die.

I am the body that choked on its anger, was strangled by cancer, and fought back with faith and laughter – the body that was no longer whole.

I am the body that thrilled to a lover’s caress, rejoiced at the quickening of my womb, and writhed in the primal screams of childbirth – the body that gave life and by it was made whole once more.

I am the body that cooked dinner, nursed wounds, taught letters, and did not sleep for a decade – the body that fed its children on its flesh and bones.

I am the body that grew crooked and crippled before its time, suffered surgeries and rehab, and contorted with agony – the body that learned to walk again.

I am the body that looks in the mirror and sees wisdom etched by laughter into its face and beauty carved by blood into its scars – the body at peace with itself.

I am old.

I am beautiful.

I am the body of a woman.

27 comments on “Beauty Carved In Flesh and Blood

  1. Jenny Hansen says:

    Oh my goodness, I LOVE this. Wonderful job, and I am desperately impressed with your poetic side. 🙂

  2. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    Wow, Piper. This is powerful. Brilliant. I don’t see you as old. No. Still young and beautiful!

  3. Oh, my gosh. Or as my Little Dude would say, Oh, Oh, Oh. This is poetry at its finest. So powerful. I’ve always known this, but you are a beautiful force. ❤

  4. I was sitting here and caught my mouth hanging open, looking probably not exactly beauutiful after reading your strong, wise and amazing post!! So fantastic!! I’m enthusiastic!! Thanks for sharing this!

  5. Piper! Wow! … just … WOW!

  6. This gave me chills, Piper. Wow. Thanks so much for bringing such beauty to the fest!

  7. Debra Grace says:

    I felt it.

  8. Oh Piper, this is so incredibly beautiful!! You captured the life of many women while highlighting your very own experiences. LOVED IT! xo

  9. jsredmond says:

    Powerful post–thank you!

  10. Powerful! And reflective of the many stages we, as women, go through in life. Loved!

Talk to us. We talk back.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.