The End is Near (and we deserve it). . . . Miss Hooker Beauty Pageant

Miss Hooker Beauty Pageant

Yes. It’s exactly what it sounds like. It’s a beauty pageant for members of the world’s oldest profession. Charlotte Laws reports on the event in her blog for The Huffington Post. Miss Hooker Beauty Pageant: Naked Facts About Women and Equality

Blogs and Articles in No Particular Order

Best selling author Kristen Lamb found out the advantages of Twitter when her community was beset by tornadoes this week. Twitter & Twisters – A Life-Saving Combination

It’s the hottest game in town, and Marcy Kennedy caught the fact that one important line was missing. The Missing Hunger Games Line

Best selling author Larry Enright released an exciting new apocalyptic novel, 12/21/12You can find it at the Larry Enright Amazon Page. While you’re there, check out the review by another of my favorite authors, Ryne Douglas Pearson. Ryne is possibly the most eloquent author I know, and even reading his book reviews are a real mind soothing treat.

Historical fiction author and publishing attorney Susan Spann is writing a brilliant series to educate us about the A – Z of publishing that every writer needs to know before plunging in. She started with A is for Agency and is now up to E is for Exclusivity. A must read.

August McLaughlin gives us a most helpful update on the new changes to Pinterest, a playground for the visually oriented. #Pinterest: How to Pin Without Getting Arrested

Thought the threat to our internet freedom went down with SOPA? Not a chance! Check out CISPA, which, like Grendel’s mother from Beowulf, has even uglier potential, making our government partners with web sites to spy on us. Even Worse Than SOPA: New CISPA Cybersecurity Bill Will Censor the Web Via Andrew Kincaid.

This is a hoot! Peeps on Television: 20 Shows Starring Marshmallow Peeps by Mental Floss.

Grandparents Rock! Kathy Owen shares ten reasons why grandparents are the best, along with a video of an old couple that’s sure to have you grinning.

Pro Soccer Player Wipes His Booger on a Child’s Face. Just to warn you, this video is seriously disgusting. Do not watch it if you don’t want to see a gross out that makes middle school humor seem pleasant. My esteem for American football players just went up ten notches.

Nigel Blackwell avoids controversy in a most hysterical fashion. A Non-Controversial Sockumentary

Super Blogger Leanne Shirtliffe pointed out Play Date Waivers: A Bizarre New Trend in Parenting.

Love this super fun video of a wild river otter and Rio the backyard beagle. Perhaps we should recruit them to teach our country (and our world) about peaceful co-existence.

What do you think of the Miss Hooker Beauty Pageant?

All the best to all of you for a week of feeling pretty.

Piper Bayard

31 comments on “The End is Near (and we deserve it). . . . Miss Hooker Beauty Pageant

  1. I’m not a fan of beauty pageants in general, so the hooker theme doesn’t much phase me. Definitely thought-provoking, though. I wonder what the differences will be… Guess I’ll go read that article and find out.

    Great post, Piper. Thanks for including my link!

    • Piper Bayard says:

      I’m with you. I’m not a fan of beauty pageants, either. At least this one seems to be somewhat honest about its objectification of women. They’re making no bones about it. So to speak. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Larry Enright says:

    Thanks for mentioning my new release, Piper! It’s a great hook, er a great plug for my…. oh never mind. Thanks!

  3. Andrew says:

    I think it is…decidedly odd. And not at all what I expected. And I do agree with the assertion that women need to assert themselves more in politics. Too many old, out of touch white guys running the country. I say get the gender divide in the house and senate to reflect the real world: 51% women, 49% men. It’d be interesting to see how things change were that to come to pass. I’m sure a lot of misogynists would whine about that, but they pretty much whine and complain all the time regardless of how much power a woman actually has, so you could basically ignore them =P

    And it’s funny I’ve seen nothing about CISPA in the news or on twitter, other than the link I came across on FB. It’s a lot worse than SOPA/PIPA, but it isn’t quite as specific. Which makes it more dangerous. And harder to combat, because it isn’t threatening to shut down FB or Twitter. And it isn’t directly about piracy, although likely that’s what it would be used to combat. As long as people have their entertainment, they’re content to let the government strip away their civil liberties. So it seems, at any rate.

    On a side note, I believe the outcry about SOPA/PIPA was lead in large part by folks who wanted to continue pirating stuff. How can they think that you could basically steal from these huge companies and they not respond in some way? Really, SOPA/PIPA and now CISPA was brought on by irresponsible use of the internet by what seems to be a large minority of users. It’s kinda like when you were back in grade school and a few kids who wouldn’t shut up resulted in the teacher keeping everyone in for recess, writing “I will be more respectful to my teacher” or some such 100 times. That was back when they had recess of course…but that’s another topic for another day =P

    • Piper Bayard says:

      I agree with you that the pirates are the people who most want things to stay the same, but I have to say that I love the wild frontier of the internet. There are already laws to deal with violations. I would like to see us enforce the laws we have, and any laws that involve a codified partnership between government and third parties are just bad juju from the get go. Thanks so much for your thoughtful comment, Andrew.

      • Andrew says:

        Definitely! We legislate way, way too much. So many laws…makes the cops’ jobs easier though. If they can’t get you on one thing they can hold you on something else til they find evidence. Heck, probably half of us are criminals and don’t even realize it =P I’ve already written my representative and senator about CISPA. I pester them fairly often…gotta keep them on their toes haha

  4. Have you never heard of The Hooker’s Ball in San Francisco? A Hooker Beauty Pageant would be tame in that city.

    • Piper Bayard says:

      I have heard of it. Perhaps San Francisco will have to start their own pageant. Would be a nice addition to the festivities they already have. Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Dawn.

  5. K.B. Owen says:

    Skipping the booger video, but great mashup, Piper! And thanks a million for the blog love! Have a wonderful Easter.

  6. Huge facepalm…who’s the emcee, Hugh Hefner? I love the Peeps this time of year. Keep meaning to do a Peeps version of The A-Team.

  7. K.B. Owen says:

    P.S. – Loved the river otter video! Otters are my favorite animal!

  8. Elizabeth says:

    I love the way that the otter is all “Neener, neener! I’m on the other side of the fence, and you can’t get me! Oh! Now I’m on your side! Oh! Now I’m far away again! NEENER NEENER I AM THE OTTER QUEEN!”

    This inane comment brought to you by a lack of sleep and a delirious adoration for otters.

  9. Dog and river otter- cutest thing ever.

    I became hooked on Twitter after the Japan earthquake. Not being able to understand Japanese radio from the short wave, we could follow Twitter and find out where we could get water (vending machines) food, if the airport was open, evacuation status, and of course nuclear power plant status. Glad Kristen is ok!

    • Piper Bayard says:

      I hadn’t thought about what a wonderful tool that must have been. I’m so glad you folks were able to use it to your benefit. Good to see you, Emily. Thanks for stopping by.

  10. Susan Spann says:

    Thanks for the link Piper! Also…the Miss Hooker USA pageant…scary but awesome too. I’d ask where you find this stuff but I’m not sure I want to know. I’d probably spend way too much time there myself…

    Happy Easter!

  11. Hi Piper

    Thanks for the mention, I appreciate it. That’s a pretty brave otter.

    As for the pageant, can you imagine the Q and A. “World peace and more customers,” perhaps?

    Have a good weekend.

    Cheers!

  12. There are so many great links here, I don’t know where to start! Super excited to dive into that publishing series though…but I’ve been distracted by the Peeps, first. I’m a sucker for candy dramatization. A happy Easter to you and Homes!

  13. Smplefy says:

    Love the visual of the St. Peeps Day Massacre. Have a great one Piper!

  14. Just when I thought beauty pageants couldn’t get any worse…

    Thanks for including a link to my post. I hadn’t seen Susan Spann’s series on publishing, so I’m headed to check that out!

    • Piper Bayard says:

      I know. All that’s missing now is Miss Meth-head. So glad you’re checking out Susan’s series. She is awesome and very knowledgable. Good to see you, Marcy.

  15. brennagrimes says:

    All I kept thinking throughout reading this was: Hooker Beauty Pageant? Well that’s where the little girls from Toddlers & Tiaras will be in 10 years.

Talk to us. We talk back.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.