The End is Near (and we deserve it). . . . Man has Heart Attack at Heart Attack Grill

A gentleman was enjoying the Triple Bypass Burger at the Heart Attack Grill when he apparently went into cardiac arrest.

He certainly can’t sue for false advertising.

There were several contenders this week…

My thanks to Kerry Meacham for sending me this article. World’s Largest Breasts Save Drunk Driver’s Life

A big thank you, too, to Angela Quarles for this wonderful tidbit. “Toylet” Turns Bathroom into an Arcade

Both of these articles are more proof that The End is Near (and we deserve it).

Blogs and Articles in No Particular Order

Bracing for Impact – The Future of Big Publishing in the New Paradigm. A brilliant analysis of the shifting sands by Kristen Lamb.

There’s quite the dance going on with Amazon and Barnes & Noble. Clever Moves All Around in the B&N and Amazon Chess Game.

Seems every time I get a handle on Facebook and Twitter, they change. Luckily, I’ve got Lonny Dunn at ProNetworkBuild to help me keep it sorted out. New Twitter Tips

Remember Whitney Houston? A tribute by Mark Kaplowitz.

Ellie Ann is always putting out so much good material that I couldn’t choose this week. One is some positive news out of Iraq about what one nonprofit, SALT, is doing to help that country learn to develop itself. What’s with All the Iraqi Agricultural Buzz? She also has a funny, clever post, Women as Objects.

Debra Kristi and her guest blogger, Diane Capri remind us just how much Big Brother sees. We See You (whether you know it or not)

Welcome award winning author and lovely lady Justine Davis to the blogosphere. Welcome!

A fun post from Amy Shojai about the literary and computing abilities of cats. How Cats Read & Computer Cat-Astrophe

Are you aware that political parties are now keeping detailed information about you in their databases? Obama’s White Whale: How a Top-Secret Obama Campaign Program Could Change the 2012 Race. I am guessing this isn’t just the democrats.

On the other hand, Bayard/Lamb 2012 never collects your data for any reason. This week, we’re honored to have a Campaign Blog Stop at Laird Sapir’s. Stop by and find out how the metric system contributed to the American Revolution, and how a pack of war dogs will improve Congress. A Foxie with Moxie Campaign Stop

For some warm and fuzzy, check out Natalie Hartford’s Valentine post. Valentine’s Day: Let the Love Palooza Continue

“Time of My Life”: Last Known WWI Veteran Dies at 110 via my esteemed blogging and spy novel writing partner, Holmes.

And finally, if you’re like me and enjoy talking to the animals, check out this fellow who was lucky enough to go surfing with a dolphin.

Would you ever eat a Triple Bypass Burger?

All the best to all of you for a week of cardiac health.

Piper Bayard

39 comments on “The End is Near (and we deserve it). . . . Man has Heart Attack at Heart Attack Grill

  1. Running from Hell with El says:

    It seems callous to giggle about the heart attack victim but I cannot seem to help it . . .

  2. I’m shocked his relatives aren’t suing the place, in all honesty. Great stuff as always.

  3. Catie Rhodes says:

    Twenty years ago, I would have eaten a triple bypass burger. Now, the misery following would not be worth it. I love these links you compile (so many that I miss), but this week’s star for me was the dolphin video.

    • Piper Bayard says:

      I’m with you, Catie. Today, I might take one bite of a Triple Bypass Burger, but that would be it for me.

      Wasn’t that dolphin awesome? Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  4. Stacy Green says:

    I agree with you guys. The misery of the Triple Bypass Burger wouldn’t be worth it. And people wonder why America has an obesity problem.

    The dolphin was excellent. Off to check out the links. Thanks!

  5. I recently ate a burger that consisted of all the things on the triple-bypass burger. In a bold and defiant bird-flip at heart disease, it was topped with another patty that consisted of a big slab of cheese sandwiched between two Portobello mushroom caps that had been breaded and deep-fried.

    Before you retch, I should mention that a) it was delicious; and b) I shared it with a friend, and neither of us could finish our halves.

    It was one of those things that had to be done for the bragging rights. I wouldn’t attempt the triple-bypass burger, though – it doesn’t have enough glamour and novelty. I’m too fond of my arteries to torture them with just any old 6,000 calorie burger.

  6. Okay, I couldn’t touch a burger that big. It was just too big for me. When I was like seventeen that burger would have been awesome, but I couldn’t eat it now.

    I do love the take your cat to work day. Of course I find myself wondering how in the world everyone actually got their cats there. Mine would have run away from me as soon as I opened their little cages at my office. And sat on the computers of other people who were in there. 😀

    And considering the current line up for the presidency, I think you and Kristen would do a great job. Would you mind if I used the picture at the end on my blog? I think it would be a good way to introduce folks to two of the best blogs I follow.

    Piper, I love your mash ups! They are a thing of beauty.

    • Piper Bayard says:

      Hi Jayrod. Thanks so much for your support! So glad you enjoy the blog, and I appreciate your comment. 🙂

      As for the picture, are you referring to the sheep over at Laird Sapir’s post?

  7. amyshojai says:

    Love the take-your-cat-to-work cartoon, that’s so accurate! And the surfing dolphin is awesome. Thanks for the mention!

  8. Leanne Shirtliffe says:

    And the tourists were taking pictures of him? That’s the second sign the end is near.

    Love these mash-ups, Piper!

  9. Susan S says:

    …Toylet.

    What more is there to say. It’s the end of the world as we know it – but perhaps the start of a much more entertaining one.

    One question: do the inventors of this device really think guys need another distraction in the bathroom? Because from where I sit (no pun intended), their aim is already bad enough.

    • Piper Bayard says:

      Seems they’d be handy in toilet training of little boys. At least playing a game doesn’t clog the pipes like throwing in targets for them. And as for guys not needing distractions in the bathroom, there’s a reason I taught my children about the joy of cleaning supplies early in life. Thanks for stopping by, Susan.

  10. tomwisk says:

    When I saw the item on-line I had one question: “Why not sooner?”. We’re a nation of overeaters who believe more is better. I feel bad over any death, but he had it coming. The sign, Anybody over 350 lbs eats free says it all.

  11. Thanks for including us, Piper!

  12. Julie Glover says:

    Great links. (Those airbag breasts are frightening, by the way.) Love the campaign stop post!

  13. Love the bring-your-cat-to-work cartoon. Just more proof that cat-people think alike, that they are awesome, and that they are all a little nuts.

    Thanks so much for including my post in TEIN(awdi). I can’t think of a better way to cap off my week. I can’t think of anything more ridiculous than the Heart Attack Grill, but I know you’ll find something, Piper.

  14. The surfing with dolphins clip is amazing!

  15. Debra Kristi says:

    That burger => just not right. 😦 Yikes. Priceless links Piper. Thank you for including Diane’s guest blog. Uber cool of you!

  16. There’s a burger place we go to regularly, Zippy’s, that has on the menu something called the King Lou Lou: 4 patties, 8 pieces of bacon (excuse me, meat candy), cheese, then it’s crowned with…another burger! Super mash-up too!

  17. Donna Newton says:

    I shouldn’t laugh but oh my god. Having a heart attack while eating a heart attack burger at Heart Attack itself. Even I couldn’t have made that up!

  18. Having a heart attack at the Heart Attack Grill while eating the Tripe Bypass Burger… I read about that earlier this week. The world is going to hell – I am convinced now.

    Loooove the dolphin video. 🙂

    • Piper Bayard says:

      Wasn’t that cool? I was in North Carolina once with my family near Cape Lookout when a very large pod of dolphins swam with our boat for about 20 minutes. It was a very special day. Thanks for stopping by, Darlene.

  19. Oh! The Heart Attack Grill story was just hilarious. I mean it’s funny now that the man didn’t die. Still, you can’t sue the store for misleading the customer. It’s all on the menu.

    • Piper Bayard says:

      I agree, Marilag. It’s so funny only because the man didn’t die. And that was my first thought, too. No false advertising here. 🙂 Good to see you. Thanks for stopping by.

Talk to us. We talk back.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.