The Bison Bomb

By Piper Bayard

American bison public domain, wikimedia commons

American bison
public domain, wikimedia commons

 

It began as an innocent, good willed attempt at providing supper for my family. Ground bison. Presumably completely dead and with no ill intentions toward me, my hair, or my kitchen.

I cooked it up around 1:00 p.m. and pushed the pot to the back burner. Little did I know that this simple act would trigger a chain of events that would lead to a Facebook status, a blog post, and an hour of kitchen rehabilitation.

Around 7:00 p.m., I returned to the scene. I noticed the innocuous-looking, room-temperature bison in the pan and decided to finish the spaghetti for the next day. I put the pan on the front burner and turned the heat to medium-low.

Five minutes later, I was cutting up red bell pepper and watching Criminal Minds over the kitchen bar. On the show, the unsub snuck into a man’s house, pointed a gun at him, and forced him onto the floor. The man was pleading for his life, the .40 Smith & Wesson mere inches from his head. Suddenly, BOOM! My bison exploded right on cue.

A hot air bubble? A build up of hydrogen sulfide? A Satanic connection to TV reruns? We will never know. But it rocketed ground up grazing undulate from wall to wall and floor to ceiling. Bison on the bread box, bison on the microwave, bison in the water pitcher, bison on the appliances, even bison on the ceiling and light fixtures. We won’t discuss the bison in my hair. Total revenge of the bison.

The incident brought to mind the Al-Qaeda attempt at online media that they made a few years back with an article called, “How to Make a Bomb in the Kitchen of Your Mom.” So here you go all you Wannabe Jihadis. Take this advice from a mom. Get yourself some bison, follow the instructions above, and be sure to put your faces down into the pans where you’ve got a good view so that you can let us know exactly how these explosions happen.

What do you say, folks? Why do you think my bison explode?

Happy cooking!

22 comments on “The Bison Bomb

  1. SAN_jeet says:

    The Bison Bomb
    His hair need comb

    Good post

  2. Revenge for us creating something called Buffalo chicken wings.

  3. You probably didn’t find it funny at the time, but I have to admit I’m giggling. Cooking can be dangerous. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’ve only experienced one kind of exploding meat…IYKWIM….so I’m completely clueless as to what caused your bison to blow up.

  5. You just had to provide the anti-meat people yet another reason to stick with veggies!

  6. Catherine Johnson says:

    Too funny!

  7. Don Royster says:

    It’s called Bison Karma. Next thing you know you will be driving down a dirt road late at night and run into a buffalo. That’s called a Buffalo Roam. Believe me, bison and buffalo do not road kill make. The car loses every time. Take it from someone who knows.

  8. tucsonmike says:

    Hey my father was a chemist and he had other people do the lab work, because he said labs were dangerous. Moral of the story? Some parts of cooking involve chemistry. As I told you on Facebook, you really did get buffaloed. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. tucsonmike says:

    Reblogged this on Author Michael Charton and commented:
    Cooking is chemistry and can be dangerous. Be careful of being buffaloed. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. awax1217 says:

    Bison, bison, everywhere, bison on revenge, bison on a tear.

  11. Oh my gosh, Piper. This is crazy! I would have freaked out for sure. What the what? ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. majroj says:

    If exploding bison is First Nations karmic revenge, what the heck was in operation when I tried to boil one (1) whole egg in two (2) cups of water in a two-cup Pyrex measuring cup that exploded, blowing open the microwave, shattering the glass carousel and light bulb, and aerosoling cooked scrambled egg all over half of the kitchen?

Talk to us. We talk back.

